Royal Carriages is the premier carriage tour company in New Orleans, and the History & Haunts Carriage Tour is a thrilling insider's view of the French Quarter after dark. With a knowledgeable and hospitable tour guide, guests will trot around the Quarter's streets hearing tales of ghosts and ghouls. What a wonderful way to see the town, learn a bit of history, and experience a one of a kind adventure.

Activity Highlights

  • 1 Hour French Quarter carriage ride and narrated tour
  • Iconic ghost stories of the French Quarter
  • Charismatic chauffeur and tour guide
  • Small group experience guaranteed

What's Included

  • Mule drawn carriage ride with licensed guide/driver.

What to bring

  • Cameras
  • A beverage

Restrictions

  • No glass beverage containers allowed on board.
  • Carriage capacity up to 8 adults.
  • Must be 21 or older to consume alcohol.
  • Pregnant women and people with back problems can ride at their discretion.
  • Video recording is generally prohibited without advanced permission by the carriage driver.
  • If the outside temperature exceeds 95 degrees, carriage tours are canceled and will resume once the outside temperature drops below 95 degrees. All ticket holders will be given the option to reschedule for a later date or time or can choose to receive a refund for any tours canceled by the city of New Orleans due to high heat.

Additional information

  • This tour is appropriate for all ages.
  • Beverages are allowed on board.
  • No charge for infants & toddlers being held or seated in the lap of an adult.
  • Carriage capacity up to 8 adults.
  • Pregnant women can ride at their discretion.
  • Dogs, no matter the size, will be the passenger's responsibility & will have to share the seat with its owners. There is no cost for dogs.
  • This tour departs at various times throughout the day. It is recommended to book in advance for this tour to guarantee your seat. Please click the "Check Availability" button for up to date availability.
  • This tour departs year round at 9pm daily, and 10pm Friday-Sunday. It is recommended to book in advance for this tour. Please click the "Check Availability" button for up-to-date availability.

Handicap Information

Carriages are a great way for handicapped or disabled people to experience the French Quarter. If they can walk up steps with assistance, they will be able to board our carriages with ease. We do provide stepping stools and assistance. For people with no mobility, no ability to stand, these people may not be able to access the seat of the carriage. Our private carriages are more open air, so there is more ability for these individuals to be placed into those carriages, or larger people. Wheelchairs, strollers, and walkers can be left behind at our Jackson Square boarding location, and our on-site supervising manager will look after them. We suggest that all important items be taken on the ride.

Cancellation policy

Customers may cancel at least 24 hours prior to their arrival date and time to receive a full refund minus a $5 service fee. Customers that cancel after the 24 hour period will not be eligible for a refund. The carriages are covered and therefore operate rain or shine, but if weather is severe, the tour may be rescheduled for a later time/date or a full refund will be issued. No-shows will not be refunded. Customer may make changes to the reservation without any fees as long as it's outside the 24 hour cancellation period. Tour directors of large groups must make sure the group is on time for scheduled pick-ups.

Check Availability/Book online

Read what other TripShock! travelers think about the History & Haunts Nighttime Carriage Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip. Only TripShock! customers may leave reviews. Please login to your reservation to post your review.

Excellent

Review of History & Haunts Nighttime Carriage Tour

  • Charles Farmer USA Jun 17 2019 10:06am

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
1-10 of 148
First
Last
  • Jami Huston USA about 2 days ago

    Excellent

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Virginia Walkup USA about 4 days ago

    Fabulous Ride and Information

    We thoroughly enjoyed our guide and the ride. She was very informative and told us a lot of history we undid not know. This tour is a must while in NOLA!

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Shawna Akerman USA about 7 days ago

    Excellent

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Dee Sherrod USA about 7 days ago

    Relaxing Experience

    Fiona & Cozimo are the best!! The carriage ride through the streets of the French Quarter was awesome. Fiona is very knowledgeable, sassy, & animated in her depiction of the history of the French Quarter. Love her! By the end of the tour, I was also in love with Cozimo. He has quite the personality as far as mules go. I would def do this attraction again and again. They make a great team and provided as much entertainment as the tour itself. Thanks for the wonderful experience!

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Brittany Leggon Alabama, USA about 7 days ago

    Excellent

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Marjorie Priceman USA about 8 days ago

    One Problem....

    My husband and I found the tour informative and entertaining. However, when we arrived at the specified place five minutes earlier than the specified time, the carriage appeared full. We were told that we would be sitting in front with the driver. That was all fine and good but we were then instructed to perform a rather awkward maneuver (stepping with one foot onto the hub of the carriage wheel while swinging the other foot onto a tiny step smaller than a foot.) We are reasonably fit middle aged people but my husband has had a hip replacement and was clearly unhappy to have to do this. We were not dressed appropriately for the activity but didn't make a fuss. I suggest your company provide a proper step stool in the future for the unlucky guests who ride up front. I'm surprised you would... read more

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Management Response, about 8 days ago

    Thank you for reaching out to us and letting us know about your experience on the History and Haunts nighttime carriage tour. I apologize that you were put in a inconvenient spot on the carriage that required you to perform a rather awkward maneuver to board. The voucher we sent you upon booking does state to arrive at least 15 min prior to your scheduled departure time. Seating is arranged on a first come first serve basis. It also states that they do provide stepping stools and assistance for customers that may need help for an easier boarding process. Again, I apologize that you had such a hard time boarding, please in the future give us a call and speak to our call center directly and we will see to it that the tour operator is prepared for your arrival. The tour guides always strive...

    Read more

    Thank you for reaching out to us and letting us know about your experience on the History and Haunts nighttime carriage tour. I apologize that you were put in a inconvenient spot on the carriage that required you to perform a rather awkward maneuver to board. The voucher we sent you upon booking does state to arrive at least 15 min prior to your scheduled departure time. Seating is arranged on a first come first serve basis. It also states that they do provide stepping stools and assistance for customers that may need help for an easier boarding process. Again, I apologize that you had such a hard time boarding, please in the future give us a call and speak to our call center directly and we will see to it that the tour operator is prepared for your arrival. The tour guides always strive to provide an enjoyable experience and We are happy to hear that you found the tour entertaining and informative. We look forward to planning your next vacation fun activities! Thank you, Tripshock Reservations Management Team.

  • Derrick Carden USA about 9 days ago

    Excellent

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Richard Berger USA about 14 days ago

    Good

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Rudy Rudy USA about 14 days ago

    Excellent

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Sheila Bartlett USA about 15 days ago

    Skip this one

    The carriage driver was hard to hear/ understand. The ghost stories were far stretched and it was the most expensive and shortest.

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
1-10 of 148
First
Last
Note: It is the responsibility of the activity/tour company to ensure the accuracy of the photos displayed. TripShock.com is not responsible for any inaccuracies in the photos.

Get SPOOKED on a Nighttime History & Haunts Carriage Tour of the French Quarter! Book with TripShock today!

nancy
2019-04-30 12:28:44

mike
2017-05-19 20:37:50

to the top