New Orleans Double Decker Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tours

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
FREE Guided Walking Tour Of The French Quarter & Garden District With 3 Day Pass ($40 Value)! Use Code NCITY10 For 10% Off Today.

City Sightseeing is New Orleans’ most flexible, fun, and affordable sightseeing tour aboard classic red, double-decker, open-top buses with live guided commentary! Tour guests are free to hop-on and hop-off the buses whenever and wherever they choose, spending as much time as desired in their preferred locations. Guided Walking Tours of the French Quarter and the Garden District are included FREE with a 3-day ticket (a $40 value). The tour route includes stops at all New Orleans’ top attractions, shops, and restaurants with discounts and deals all along the way, so hop on a big red bus today!

Activity Highlights

  • Unlimited Hop-On Hop-Off for 1 day or 3 consecutive days
  • Free walking tours with 3-day pass ($40-dollar value)
  • Classic red double-decker bus
  • Live narrated commentary during bus tour

Stops On The Route Operates 7 days a week, every 30 minutes from 9:30am-5:30pm. One loop is a 2-hour city tour. Hop on by 3:30pm for a complete loop. Guests may park to board at Park First Basin Lot - 1205 Saint Louis St. (next to Basin Street Station - 501 Basin St.), for an additional cost.

  • Stop #1 JACKSON SQUARE - 700 Decatur St. - Jackson Square, Beignets & Cafe Au Lait
  • Stop #2 FRENCH MARKET - N. Peters & Ursuline Aves. - French Quarter Walking Tour - Guided Tour (Free with 3 day ticket), French Market Collonade, Farmers Market & Flee Market
  • Stop #3 ESPLANADE - N. Peters St. & Barracks St. - Old U.S. Mint - Louisiana State Museum, Frenchmen Street Music Clubs, Crescent Park
  • Stop #4 TREME' - Rampart & Ursinline Ave. - St. Augustine Church & Tomb of the Unknown Slave
  • Stop #5 BASIN STREET STATION - 501 Basin St. - Visitor Information Center (15 minute Rest Stop) - Basin St. Station Cemetery Tour - St. Louis Cemetery #1, Armstrong Park & Congo Square, Jean Lafitte Swamp Tours, Streetcar Gift Shop
  • Stop #6 CANAL STREET - 500 Canal St. - Bourbon Street, Sheraton Hotel, Marriott Hotels
  • Stop #7 RIVRERFRONT at HARRAH'S CASINO - Convention Center Blvd. & Poydras - Paddlewheeler Creole Queen, Spanish Plaza - The Outlet Collection at Riverwalk, Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium, Canal Place Shopping Center
  • Stop #8 CBD - Poydras & Carondolet (Central Business District) - Lafayette Square & Gallier Hall
  • Stop #10 THE NATIONAL WWII MUSEUM - 945 Magazine St. - Ogden Museum of Southern Art, Contemporary Arts Center, Confederate Civil War Museum
  • Stop #11 MAGAZINE STREET & Jackson Ave. - Magazine Street Shops & Restaurants
  • Stop #12 GARDEN DISTRICT on MAGAZINE Street & Washington Ave. - Garden District Walking Tour (Free with 3 day ticket), Cemetery Self-Guided Walking Tour - Lafayette Cemetery #1, Magazine Street Shops & Restaurants
  • Stop #13 MAGAZINE STREET & Louisiana Ave. - Magazine Street Shops & Restaurants
  • Stop #14 ST. CHARLES AVENUE - Louisiana Ave. & St. Charles Ave. - St. Charles Avenue Streetcar
  • Stop #15 ST. CHARLES AVENUE - 2020 St. Charles Ave. - New Orleans CVB & Visitor Center
  • Stop #16 MARDI GRAS WORLD - 1380 Port of New Orleans Blvd. - Erato Street Cruise Ship Terminal
  • Stop #17 ARTS DISTRICT - Julia St. & S. Peters St. - The Outlet Collection at Riverwalk, Julia Street Shops & Galleries, Louisiana Children's Museum, Julia Street Cruise Ship Terminal
  • Stop #18 HARRAH'S CASINO on S. Peters St. & Poydras

View All Stops & Routes Here

What's Included

  • Unlimited Hop-On Hop-Off for 1 day or 3 consecutive days
  • Live narrated commentary
  • Self-guided tour of Lafayette Cemetery #1
  • Discounts for area restaurants/attractions
  • Escorted walking tours of the French Quarter & Garden District included FREE with a 3-day ticket

What to bring

  • Cameras
  • Sunglasses
  • Non-alcoholic beverage


  • Food is not allowed on the bus
  • No alcohol is allowed on the bus
  • No glass of any kind is allowed on the bus
  • Selfie-sticks are prohibited on the top deck

Additional information

See the hop on hop off tour route & map

  • A pass is required for boarding.
  • Tours run in rain or shine.
  • Infants and toddlers are free when they don't occupy a seat.
  • All buses are handicap accessible, use the back entrance for accessibility.
  • Priority in handicap section is given to handicap guests - Operator directs other guests to another seat if handicap section is needed by handicap guests.
  • Rides are offered daily year-round starting at 9:30 am and ending at 5:30 pm.
  • One complete tour loop is 2 hours - buses rotate around the route and visit each stop every 30 minutes.
  • Service animals with leashes, vests, and ID'S may ride.
  • Parking is available at the Basin Street Station, additional fee applies.
  • Tickets are valid 1-Day (24hrs) or 3-Day (72hrs), from the time of redemption.
  • If the bus is full, additional guests cannot be allowed to board, no exceptions. All guests shall be advised to wait for the next bus.
  • Non-alcoholic beverages are allowed as long as they are in a container with a lid. No glass of any kind is allowed on the bus.
  • Hotel pick-up is not provided. However, many of our stops are in close proximity to major hotels in the French Quarter, Faubourg Treme, Central Business District, and Garden District.

Tour Route Info

  • Garden District Walking Tour location is Stop 12: Magazine St. & Washington Avenue. Daily Tours are at 11:00am, 12:00pm, 1:00pm, 2:00pm and 3:00pm.
  • French Quarter Walking Tour location is Stop 1: 700 Decatur Street, Ticket Office. Daily Tours are at 11:00am, 12:00pm, 1:00pm, 2:00pm and 3:00pm.
  • Guided Walking Tour of St. Louis Cemetery #1 is an additional charge. These tours depart from Basin Street Station at the following times: Monday - Saturday - 9:30am, 10:30am, 11:30am and 1:30pm; Sunday - 9:15am, 10:15am and 11:15am.
  • Stop 13: Magazine St. & Ninth St. offers Magazine Street Shops & Restaurants.

Cancellation policy

Customers may cancel at least 24 hours prior to their arrival date to receive a full refund minus a $5 service fee. Customers that cancel after the 24 hour period will not be eligible for a refund. Reservations booked within 24 hours of arrival are not cancellable. No-shows will not be refunded. Customer may make changes to the reservation without any fees as long as it's outside the 24 hour cancellation period. Tickets are valid 1-Day (24hrs) or 3-Day (72hrs), from the time of redemption.

Check Availability/Book online

Read what other TripShock! travelers think about the New Orleans Double Decker Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tours. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip. Only TripShock! customers may leave reviews. Please login to your reservation to post your review.


Review of New Orleans Double Decker Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tours

  • Joyce m maciejewski USA Feb 6 2019 10:48pm

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Management Response, about 7 months ago

    Thank you for taking our tour! We are glad you had a great experience and we appreciate your feedback.

Review list is filtered by the star count (2). Click here to reset this filter.

11-20 of 20
  • Michelle USA about 2 years ago

    Hop on hop off

    Unless you plan to take the bus as a means to get to wwii museum, casino, mardi gras world venues that cost mire $$$ to visit, it’s not worrh it. Little historical info provided ☹️

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Management Response, about 2 years ago

    Thank you for Hopping-On with us and sharing your feedback, Ms. Demers. Our guests typically enjoy great value with our tour service - we are sorry that you were disappointed. Please know that all of your comments have been passed on to management. We do hope you enjoyed your time in New Orleans.

  • Jean USA about 2 years ago

    New Orleans Hop on Hop off

    Save your money! While the service is good, the stops are not. Three stops closed, hotel stops, not much history of area given. I've been on hop on, hop off buses before and they were much superior than this one. Do a bit of research and utilize the historic street cars to get around New Orleans. At the most, do it for one day. I wouldn't do this one again.

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Management Response, about 2 years ago

    Hi Jean, we appreciate your feedback and are sorry that you were unhappy with your tour experience. Because our route includes 20 stops along miles of city streets, portions of the route are modified from time-to-time due to street repairs or other obstructions. Typically our agents do a great job communicating these adjustments. Our apologies if this didn’t occur during your visit. Please know that all of your comments have been shared with our management team.

  • Reanna Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA about 3 years ago

    Slightly Disappointed

    Unfortunately it rained during our tour which made it especially difficult to enjoy the sights. We could have looked past that if the tour guide did not ramble about "fake news" and the price of hotel rooms in the city instead of actually giving us information on the history of the city.

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Danita Townville, South Carolina, USA about 3 years ago

    Great concept but...

    I've enjoyed many tours similar to this one however, the "rules" weren't real clear for this one. At the end of the day we were taken to stop 5 & told that was the last stop of the day. We were told differently on the phone. They did make it right by taking us where we needed to go. Also, we felt that some of the stops shouldn't even be listed as stops. Stops 6 & 7 could be combined. Not the best deal for your money!

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Douglas Lorton, Virginia, USA about 3 years ago

    Long wait for buses and stops omitted

    We used the hop on and hop off in New Orleans. The map was not well marked to indicate the stops. We had extended wait times for buses. Stops were omitted that were on the map and the guide did not tell us until we were past the stop we needed. There is also no app to let you know where the buses are on the route, which is very surprising. The guides were knowledgeable and had great hints about visiting restaurants and other attractions.

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Kayla Sun City, Arizona, USA about 3 years ago

    Not a 30 minute wait

    The staff was good. Very interesting local guide. However, too much time spent waiting for bus. The 30 minute between buses is inaccurate

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Mervin San Francisco, California, USA about 4 years ago

    Staff unprepared to handle online booking

    While I was aware that a printed receipt was preferred, I was prepared to email the confirmation. However, upon arrival to the venue, the person at the desk was prepared to tell I needed to have a hard copy. I had to insist that it was possible to receive my tickets without a hard copy. Luckily, finally, the third person was very adept at handling the online purchase I had made. The tour itself was fine, however, we encountered many buses that were full; and had to wait for the next bus with no assurance we would be able to get on the next one, resulting in wasted time or paying for a cab.

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Steve Dana Point, California, USA about 4 years ago

    better last time

    The Bus Tour wasn't working on the day I made reservations for on-line,the tour guide was extremely poor,he gave very little information about numerous historic sights along the tour,he wasnt half as good as the tour guide we took on the bus last time we went. Not a good experience-------

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Shanna McGrath Crestview, Florida, USA about 4 years ago

    waste of time

    If you want to get on it and just ride around it might be ok, but it is a joke trying to hop on hop off. We would end up waiting 30 minutes only to have the bus full and have to wait another 30 minutes to hav have the same thing happen. Very frustrating. I am just glad I was capable of walking all over because if you depended on this you would be sitting in the same spot all day.

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Judith B Taylor Auburn, Maine, USA about 5 years ago

    We learned a lot about New Orleans, but…

    We signed up to take the double-decker red buses in New Orleans for three days. It turned out that we arrive too late and the bus is stopped at five on our first day. Our second day we did take the full tour but felt the stops were too far away for us to comfortably walk to the things we had hope to see. We did enjoy our tour guide and learned lot about the city of New Orleans. I would not recommend the on and off buses for people with mobility issues such as myself with bad knees. And the third day we were not able to use it at all because of Mardi Gras and the buses were not running the Saturday before Mardi Gras. So all in all we did not feel we got our moneys worth.

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
11-20 of 20
Note: It is the responsibility of the activity/tour company to ensure the accuracy of the photos displayed. is not responsible for any inaccuracies in the photos.

NOLA Fun aboard the Double Decker Bus with City Sightseeing New Orleans

2018-12-26 11:59:48

2015-03-06 10:13:59

to the top