French Quarter Carriage Ride and Cemetery Tour

View
All
5 stars
147
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
6

Sit back and relax while a carriage driver unfolds 300 years of fun, fact-filled history on guest's mule-drawn carriage ride through the French Quarter. This 1-hour ride covers the storied history of New Orleans, discussing everything from the resilient culture to the aging architecture. All tours include a short walking tour inside St. Louis Cemetery No. 1, where Marie Laveau the Voodoo Queen is buried. Book a carriage tour today and see the French Quarter in a whole new way!

Activity Highlights

  • Authentic French Quarter carriage ride
  • See the French Quarter & St Louis Cemetery No 1
  • Awarded 2018 Louisiana Attraction of the Year
  • Small group experience guaranteed

What's Included

  • Mule-drawn carriage ride
  • Licensed city tour guide/driver
  • French Quarter history tour
  • Admission into St. Louis Cemetery No. 1 and walking tour of the cemetery

What to bring

  • Cameras
  • A beverage

Restrictions

  • The St. Louis Cemetery is managed by the Archdiocese of New Orleans and will be closed to the public during scheduled funerals hours. All tickets booked during that time will be rescheduled.
  • No glass beverage containers allowed on board.
  • Must be 21 or older to consume alcohol.
  • Pregnant women and people with back problems can ride at their discretion.
  • Video recording is generally prohibited without advanced permission by the carriage driver.
  • If the outside temperature exceeds 95 degrees, carriage tours are canceled and will resume once the outside temperature drops below 95 degrees. All ticket holders will be given the option to reschedule for a later date or time or can choose to receive a refund for any tours canceled by the city of New Orleans due to high heat.

Additional information

  • This tour is appropriate for all ages.
  • Beverages are allowed on board.
  • No charge for infants & toddlers being held or seated in the lap of an adult.
  • Pregnant women can ride at their discretion.
  • Tour takes place on group carriages holding between 6-8 passengers. Small group experience guaranteed!
  • Dogs, no matter the size, will be the passenger's responsibility & will have to share the seat with its owners. There is no cost for dogs. Service dog entry is up to the discretion of the cemetery.
  • This tour departs at various times throughout the day. It is recommended to book in advance for this tour to guarantee seating. Please click the "Check Availability" button for up to date availability.

Handicap Information

Carriages are a great way for handicapped or disabled people to experience the French Quarter. If they can walk up steps with assistance, they will be able to board the carriages with ease. Royal Carriages provides stepping stools and assistance. For people with no mobility, no ability to stand, these people may not be able to access the seat of the carriage. The small private carriages are more open air, so there is more ability for these individuals to be placed into those carriages, or larger people. Wheelchairs, strollers, and walkers can be left behind at Jackson Square boarding location with the Royal Carriages on-site supervising manager, who will look after them. All important items are taken on the ride.

Cancellation policy

Tours scheduled between 9AM - 2PM include a walking tour of St Louis Cemetery No 1. Tours scheduled after 2PM include the colorful Creole neighborhoods. The cemetery may close for unexpectedly due to funerals. Customers may cancel at least 24 hours prior to their arrival date and time to receive a full refund minus a $5 service fee. Customers that cancel after the 24 hour period will not be eligible for a refund. The carriages are covered and therefore operate rain or shine, but if weather is severe, the tour may be rescheduled for a later time/date or a full refund will be issued. There are no refunds or re-schedules for missed tour appointments. No-shows will not be refunded. Customer may make changes to the reservation without any fees as long as it's outside the 24 hour cancellation period. Tour directors of large groups must make sure the group is on time for scheduled pick-ups.

Check Availability/Book online

Read what other TripShock! travelers think about the French Quarter Carriage Ride and Cemetery Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip. Only TripShock! customers may leave reviews. Please login to your reservation to post your review.

Review list is filtered by the star count (3). Click here to reset this filter.

1-6 of 6
First
Last
  • Jeremy Harris USA about 5 days ago

    Carriage ride and cemetery tour

    We enjoyed the carriage ride.

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Jose Moreno USA about 7 months ago

    Okay

    Too much talking

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Rekha Devarapalli San Jose, California, USA about 12 months ago

    Fine

    Easy to locate them in Jackson Square. Experience was ok.

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Natoyah Smith USA about 12 months ago

    Ok

    Ride was very bumpy, site wasn't all that, new to choose a new route

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Scott USA about 1 year ago

    Convenient way to see different parts of The French Quarter

    This was a convenient way to see different parts of The French Quarter. General overview of information and history. At times hard to hear the guide because of the traffic and they are looking ahead to "drive" while there are 3 passenger rows behind them. Fun and different way to see the city.

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • jean marie chin USA about 2 years ago

    Carriage and cemetery tour

    My assumption when booking the 2pm tour would be as exactly as advertised" French quarters and cemetery and tour". When taking the tour I was told it did not include cemetery since it closed at 2 pm. My 1/2 hour stated french quarters carriageand cemetery tour. What a bummer tour!!

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Management Response, about 2 years ago

    We are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your excursion. The daytime carriage rides do offer the visit to the cemetery, however, because the they close earlier in the day, there is no option to include the cemetery if booked past 2pm. After reviewing the phone call, it appears you specifically requested the 4:30 and not the 2:00pm, but you were only charged $20 per person and received the 10% discount. Our website and confirmations do both mention that this time slot is the ride only and does not include the cemetery, so I'm sorry you didn't notice that part on your confirmation. We would have been happy to switch it had that been caught ahead of time. I hope you were at least able to enjoy the carriage ride and you you book with us again on your next visit! Our goal is to...

    Read more

    We are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your excursion. The daytime carriage rides do offer the visit to the cemetery, however, because the they close earlier in the day, there is no option to include the cemetery if booked past 2pm. After reviewing the phone call, it appears you specifically requested the 4:30 and not the 2:00pm, but you were only charged $20 per person and received the 10% discount. Our website and confirmations do both mention that this time slot is the ride only and does not include the cemetery, so I'm sorry you didn't notice that part on your confirmation. We would have been happy to switch it had that been caught ahead of time. I hope you were at least able to enjoy the carriage ride and you you book with us again on your next visit! Our goal is to provide an amazing vacation experience, so please feel free to reach out to me directly and I'd be happy to personally take care of your future vacation planning! Warmest regards, TripShock! Guest Services Manager

1-6 of 6
First
Last
Note: It is the responsibility of the activity/tour company to ensure the accuracy of the photos displayed. TripShock.com is not responsible for any inaccuracies in the photos.

mike
2017-05-19 20:14:51

to the top