New Orleans Double Decker Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tours

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
FREE Guided Walking Tour Of The French Quarter & Garden District With 3 Day Pass ($40 Value)! Use Code NCITY10 For 10% Off Today.

City Sightseeing is New Orleans’ most flexible, fun, and affordable sightseeing tour aboard classic red, double-decker, open-top buses with live guided commentary! Tour guests are free to hop-on and hop-off the buses whenever and wherever they choose, spending as much time as desired in their preferred locations. Guided Walking Tours of the French Quarter and the Garden District are included FREE with a 3-day ticket (a $40 value). The tour route includes stops at all New Orleans’ top attractions, shops, and restaurants with discounts and deals all along the way, so hop on a big red bus today!

Activity Highlights

  • Unlimited Hop-On Hop-Off for 1 day or 3 consecutive days
  • Free walking tours with 3-day pass ($40-dollar value)
  • Classic red double-decker bus
  • Live narrated commentary during bus tour

View All Stops & Routes Here

What's Included

  • Unlimited Hop-On Hop-Off for 1 day or 3 consecutive days
  • Live Narrated Commentary
  • Self-guided tour of Lafayette Cemetery #1
  • Discounts For Area Restaurants/Attractions
  • Escorted Walking Tours of the French Quarter & Garden District included FREE with a 3-day ticket

What to bring

  • Cameras
  • Sunglasses
  • Non-alcoholic beverage


  • Food is not allowed on the bus
  • No glass of any kind is allowed on the bus
  • Selfie-sticks are prohibited on the top deck

Additional information

See the hop on hop off tour route & map

  • A pass is required for boarding.
  • Tours run in rain or shine.
  • Infants and toddlers are free when they don't occupy a seat.
  • All buses are handicap accessible, use the back entrance for accessibility.
  • Priority in Handicap Section is given to handicap guests - Operator directs other guests to another seat if handicap section is needed by handicap guests.
  • Rides are offered daily year-round starting at 9:30 am and ending at 5:30 pm.
  • One complete tour loop is 2 hours - buses rotate around the route and visit each stop every 30 minutes.
  • Service animals with leashes, vests, and ID'S may ride.
  • Parking is available at the Basin St Station, additional fee applies.
  • Tickets are valid 1-Day (24hrs) or 3-Day (72hrs), from the time of redemption.
  • If the bus is full, additional guests cannot be allowed to board, no exceptions. All guests shall be advised to wait for the next bus.
  • Non-alcoholic beverages are allowed as long as they are in a container with a lid. No glass of any kind is allowed on the bus.
  • Hotel pick-up is not provided. However, but many of our stops are in close proximity to major hotels in the French Quarter, Faubourg Treme, Central Business District, and Garden District.

Tour Route Info

  • Garden District Walking Tour location is Stop 12: Magazine St. & Washington Avenue. Daily Tours are at 11:00am, 12:00pm, 1:00pm, 2:00pm and 3:00pm.
  • French Quarter Walking Tour location is Stop 1: 700 Decatur Street, Ticket Office. Daily Tours are at 11:00am, 12:00pm, 1:00pm, 2:00pm and 3:00pm.
  • Guided Walking Tour of St. Louis Cemetery #1 is an additional charge. These tours depart from Basin Street Station at the following times: Monday - Saturday - 9:30am, 10:30am, 11:30am and 1:30pm; Sunday - 9:15am, 10:15am and 11:15am.
  • Stop 13: Magazine St. & Ninth St. offers Magazine Street Shops & Restaurants.

Cancellation policy

Customers may cancel at least 24 hours prior to their arrival date to receive a full refund minus a $5 service fee. Customers that cancel after the 24 hour period will not be eligible for a refund. Reservations booked within 24 hours of arrival are not cancellable. No-shows will not be refunded. Customer may make changes to the reservation without any fees as long as it's outside the 24 hour cancellation period. Tickets are valid 1-Day (24hrs) or 3-Day (72hrs), from the time of redemption.

Check Availability/Book online

Read what other TripShock! travelers think about the New Orleans Double Decker Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tours. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip. Only TripShock! customers may leave reviews. Please login to your reservation to post your review.

Review list is filtered by the star count (1). Click here to reset this filter.

1-10 of 10
  • Richard Meseke USA about 2 months ago


    The first bus was full at4:00 and the second bus had room for 5 leaving people behind. We stopped at every stop as angry customers could not board and the driver argued with them. We still stopped again and again full the bus group had major issues I feel for those left behind.

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Management Response, about 2 months ago

    Hi Richard, thank you for Hopping-On. We are sorry that your experience on the Top-Deck was marred with this disappointing experience. The incident described was a difficult circumstance for all - not at all typical of the service we provide – but one we are working hard to prevent from reoccurring in the future. Above all, we hope you enjoyed your time in New Orleans.

  • Carlos Lamourtte USA about 4 months ago


    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Management Response, about 4 months ago

    Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your rating.

  • Erik Agren Alabama, USA about 6 months ago


    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Management Response, about 6 months ago

    Hi Erik, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take our guest feedback very seriously and ask that you contact us at [email protected] with any insights on your experience so we can improve our service in the future. Otherwise, we hope you enjoyed your time in New Orleans.

  • Renita USA about 1 year ago

    Terrible experience at check-in

    The worst check-in experience at the Hop-on Hop-off bus office/building. I had everything in hand, from what I received from tripshock email (i.e. voucher #, confirmation page). Attendant behind desk stated he needed to know who was paying, told him I purchased my ticket through tripshock, he told me what I had in hand was not the ticket to get on bus and that he needed a voucher #. I thought i was going to be denied getting on bus. There's confusion between the Hop-On Hop-off bus office and tripshock. I wasn't able to get off bus to view the sites like I planned. Upset that money was wasted in this terrible experience. I wouldn't give the Hop-on Hop-off bus another chance, nor recommend that office to anyone else. Tripshock customer service is awesome, but the Hop-on Hop-off bus... read more

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Management Response, about 1 year ago

    Hi Ms. Akridge, thanks for riding with us, so sorry to receive your communication. Please accept our apologies for the difficulties you described – certainly not typical of our guest experience. Our staff members routinely delivery excellent service - the agent assisting you was sorry to have missed the mark with your order. We appreciate your special mention of our helpful tour guide and we hope you will give us a future opportunity to restore your faith in our services at the ticket office.

  • Shannon Ivancic USA about 2 years ago

    Don't waste your money

    We purchased a three day pass and they let us know they would be closed Sunday due to Hurricane Nate so they gave us a pass for Friday, Saturday, and Monday. Saturday we went to the Basin Street Station to catch the cemetery tour with Charles and they were closed. We tried to call, checked Facebook, sent them a message and responded to their post they stated they were closed Sunday but would be open Saturday and never received a response. That's poor customer service. At least update your Facebook post or put a message on your phone to let people know you'll be closed. Street cars are way cheaper and just as easy to take around town.

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Management Response, about 2 years ago

    Hi Shannon, please accept our sincerest apologies for the sudden closure on Saturday and for the inconvenience this caused you. Due to the advancing pace of Hurricane Nate forecasted on Saturday morning, our company had to make a last-minute decision for the safety of staff members and passengers, not to operate on this day. We will be honoring all valid tickets from Sat and Sun, throughout Tuesday Oct 9. Or, as an expression of our concern for your dissatisfaction, we will certainly provide a refund for your ticket purchase.

  • Lynn Schack USA about 2 years ago

    New Orleans hop on hop off bud

    1/the worst experience I had in many years.It was down pouring on my daughter and myself. The bus first didn't show for the 1st hr.and then drove right by us ,2 times without even slowing down as we waved our hands up for help! Plus many other discouraging things that happened once we did get on a bus. I am disputing this charge which was $91.I have terminal cancer plus I have to walk with a walker and this bus ruined all out plans from trying to tour New Orleand

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Management Response, about 2 years ago

    Hello Ms. Schack, we appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with us and we are sorry for the difficulties described during the downpour last Saturday afternoon. We hope you will give us a future opportunity to restore your faith in our tour services. Thank You.

  • Tarrytown, NY about 2 years ago


    Many stops not available as advertised. Bus broke down in the middle of no where

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Carla Gonzales, Louisiana, USA about 3 years ago

    Horrible tour - hard to hear -

    The buses are clean - I will give them that - but you can not hear the tour guide as they go to the second level of the bus - on the second level there is no air conditioner and it was raining - moved to another bus - the air conditioner leaked on us and you could not hear a thing due to the air conditioner being so loud - offered us a refund after I complained about a family getting on the bus loud and cursing - asked to move to another bus - when the family that got on cursing should have had to move - we were traveling with an elderly mother on a scooter so moving to the other bus was not easy. Overall a horrible experience which was supposed to be an awesome Birthday treat!

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Michael Topeka, Kansas, USA about 3 years ago

    Worst tour ever!

    This was the worst Hop-on Hop-off tour we have ever taken. We have been to San Diego, Savannah, and others. Very slow to get to pick up spots, tour guides extremely lacking in any enthusiasm. They didn't want to be at any of the tour sites we visited. We called the management to express our concerns. The manager was to call back. Fat chance of that! Save your money!

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Pauline Crestview, Florida, USA about 4 years ago

    worst Hop on hop off tour ever

    More time spent waiting for the bus that actually being on the bus. Buses didn't have enough seating space and tour guides couldn't be heard at times.

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
1-10 of 10
Note: It is the responsibility of the activity/tour company to ensure the accuracy of the photos displayed. is not responsible for any inaccuracies in the photos.

NOLA Fun aboard the Double Decker Bus with City Sightseeing New Orleans

2018-12-26 11:59:48

2015-03-06 10:13:59

to the top